I haven’t written, but since my final year at university started I wanted to focus on that for a bit.

I like studying and I really like my university… but (there’s always this but!) there is one thing that really bugs me.

I have to admit, I am not a native English speaker and some of you might have noticed it in my posts. I am a languages student in the UK and I wanted to study languages here because it will give me better opportunities in the future.

Before I went to uni, people kept saying to study something ‘useful’ that will give me a job when I graduate. But hey, no degree can really ‘give’ you a job! And I really want to do something I find interesting, something that will not bore me to death. So I went for languages.

I thought it will be fun (and it is!) but on my way to graduation I keep encountering some… obstacles. The main issue would be getting a language exchange partner. Why? Well, as a non-native English speaker I cannot sign up to the scheme at my university. Or rather – I can, but there is no point because the chance of finding someone for my language combination is very slim. Obviously, if someone wants to practice English they would prefer to do it with a native, I can understand that. But I do feel slightly disappointed.

Learning a language makes sense if you can practice it – by speaking it. Of course the best thing would be to visit the country where they use the language, but let’s be honest – it’s not like everyone has the time and money to do that. So there is another chance – native speakers in other countries. You might just tell me to try finding a native speaker of, for example, Spanish in my native country. And my reply to you, quite honest, will be that it would be very difficult to find one. My so-called motherland is not a very popular destination for people to migrate to. Besides, I don’t live there any more, so why would I look for a language exchange partner there?

When I moved to UK in 2012 to start university I knew it won’t be easy being a non-native. To even get accepted I had to pass an English language exam. And I did. I have been learning English for 12-13 years now. So I hoped that university will help me. I am not saying that I have been neglected. But if I am a language student, shouldn’t I have more opportunities to practice the languages I’m studying?

My English might not be perfect, but frankly – whose is? I probably don’t have the accent, but I have studied the grammar, I know the rules. And after living in the UK for two years (one year break for year abroad) my English has improved even more. My point is, if universities in the UK accept international students on language degrees, shouldn’t they make sure everyone has the same opportunities?

I have not given up and I will not. However, sometimes it really makes me frustrated.